top of page

There is POWER in "Relationships"


What do relationships have to do with accomplishing my goals? Plenty. The relationships you build with people normally end up being the same people in your support system. If you don't build relationships with anyone how can you expect there to be people who have your back? Your best interest? Who want to see you succeed? A good relationship with someone benefits you and vice versa in the long run.


Accountability & Motivation


In the previous post, for this series, I mentioned that I have an accountability partner. I talked about how we text each other our weekly goals and whatnot. With that being said, an example of having this relationship and the power behind it is that at times we have to encourage one another. Sometimes that encouragement looks like me texting my partner to remind them to send off their CNA application. Even if that means I need to bug them. Don't get me wrong, I'm sure I'm not the only person in their life pestering them but, maybe they just needed that little extra push.


It is important to create relationships with people who will motivate you. This usually comes in the form of family and friends. Or friends who are like family. Often times it's hard to get ourselves out of a rut. From feeling super self-critical or like a failure. Sometimes we as human beings need that pat on the back, that reassurance that says "Hey, this is only temporary. You are stronger than you look and you will be okay in the end." For instance, lately I've been feeling less than because so many people I know are going back for their Master's or are graduating with their Master's. My boyfriend had to remind me that although those are great accomplishments I'm over here rocking out my first year of teaching; which is not an easy feat. In addition, I have to be reminded that again my path is my own and not anyone else's. My path doesn't even need me to get a Master's, and sometimes I need that friendly reminder that I'm exactly where I need to be.


Mentors are a thing, get you one.


Good relationships don't have to be super personal either. They don't have to be romantic or your best friend. You should be creating good and long-lasting relationships with supervisors or adults in general, even colleagues. I have at least four different work supervisors that I can count on to help me in life. They check in on me to see how I'm doing and they assist me when needed. Whether I need a letter of recommendation to switch career fields or I'm stumbling around unsure of myself and which direction I should be going in. It's always great to get a second opinion. No one knows best but they can give their viewpoint on a topic, and you can digest their opinions and experience for yourself.


They also see things in you that you either don't recognize or continue to minimize. I have people in my support system ready to get behind me the moment I decide to start up my design business. I've had supervisors tell me straight up when they think I'm not working towards my fullest potential or that I'm missing the mark.


Even now as I acclamate to teaching I have a few work colleagues that are my mentors. I ask them how I could have done something differently and I set goals to fix that for future use.They're there to guide me in my career endeavors. And your colleagues don't have to be someone you actually work with. Your company is not the only company who does that job. If you can't find people at your job in the same career path, willing to help you, then find someone else at a different company. Utilize your support system. Ask your friends if they know someone in your career field who has what you're looking for in a mentor. Ask them about having their email or phone number to contact them. Go to lunch and have meetings, and come prepared with questions. Then continue to build that relationship to see where it goes. You never know when you'll need someone.

 

Some questions I want you to take with you this week and consider are:

  1. Who are your mentors and why?

  2. What characteristics do you admire about them?

  3. Are your more personal relationships hurting you or helping you?

  4. What does your support system look like in reality?

  5. In an ideal world what would you like your support system to look like?

12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page